10am-4.30pm BIIAB Level 2 Award in Food Safety in Catering
10am-4.30pm BIIAB Level 2 Award in Food Safety in Catering

Course Content

BIIAB Level 2 Food Safety in Catering

... AKA The Basic Food Hygiene Certificate

This course is accredited by BIIAB. Regulations under the Food Safety Act 1990 and the Food Safety Regulations 1995 require that anyone involved in food handling must be appropriately trained in food safety. Those who meet the required standard in the short test will receive a certificate from the BIIAB.

Holders of this qualification will have knowledge and understanding of the importance of food hygiene, associated food hazards, good hygiene practice and controls based upon an awareness of food safety management systems. This is important to understanding and maintaining good practice in the handling, processing and preparation of safe food.

This course is also available as an online course which you can complete in your own time and at your pace. More information can be found here

This course also runs in Edinburgh, Perth and St Andrews.

If you have 10 or more staff that require the Level 2 Food Safety in Catering certificate then we can hold a private course either at Tennent’s Training Academy or at your venue on a date of your choice, just call us on 0141 553-0010 for more information 


What Will I Learn On This Course?


·         Hygiene Systems

·         Personal health & hygiene

·         Pest Control

·         Food Preservation

·         Methods of waste control

·         Methods of cleaning and disinfection

·         Temperature control and storage

·         HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point)

·         Legal Responsibilities

·         The role of the EHO

·         The types of penalties

·         The legal responsibilities of food handlers and managers

·         The Characteristics of Food Borne Illness

·         The principal causes of food –borne illness

·         The principal symptoms of food borne illness


The Course Fee Includes:

·         1 Day expert tuition from our trainer

·         Course material and course handbook

·         Refreshments of tea, coffee and water included throughout the day

·         Examination fees

·         Postage or Accredited BIIAB Certificate upon passing the course



·         The Course starts at 10am please arrive no later than 09.45am to the visitor reception of Tennent’s Wellpark Brewery.

·         There is no parking onsite, please arrive in time to find suitable parking nearby, we offer all day parking at the Duke Street PBT Carpark for a subsidised price which is 5 minute walk away. 

·         Soup, Sandwiches, Snacks and Soft Drinks are available to purchase on the day. Lunch Meal Deal is available to all candidates at the subsidised price of £3.50

·         Senior chefs and managers responsible for food businesses should however sit the HABC LEVEL 3 AWARD IN SUPERVISING FOOD SAFETY 

·         There are ID requirements for this course to be able to sit the exam


Course Arrangements

Available Dates
Mon 19/03/2018Places available
Tue 03/04/2018Places available
Thu 19/04/2018Places available
Tue 01/05/2018Places available
Tue 15/05/2018Places available
Thu 31/05/2018Places available
Fri 15/06/2018Places available
Tue 26/06/2018Places available
Wed 11/07/2018Places available
Thu 26/07/2018Places available
Mon 06/08/2018Places available
Wed 22/08/2018Places available
Thu 06/09/2018Places available
Mon 17/09/2018Places available
Wed 03/10/2018Places available
Fri 19/10/2018Places available
Mon 29/10/2018Places available
Mon 12/11/2018Places available
Wed 28/11/2018Places available
Mon 10/12/2018Places available
Contact me to discuss available dates

Time 10.00am - 4.00pm
Length 1 Day
Cost £80.00 per person plus VAT
(£96.00 including VAT)
Venue onsite and throughout Scotland

Sign up below to recieve the lastest info about Tennent's Training Academy